Skip to content

I love…

May 9, 2011


So, what I love about Seth is when he asked me what I wanted for Mother’s Day and I said, “I can’t decide between a wheelbarrow and a pitchfork,” he didn’t flinch, or say, “Wouldn’t you rather just have flowers, the kind you don’t have to plant.” Instead, he nodded in complete understanding and bought me both. Ooh la.


What I love about Seth is when, on a Saturday, he asks what he can do to help, and I say, “I’d really like to build a giant compost bin from our neighbor’s old fencing,” he says, “Let me get my drill.” Even though he’s not a big fan of the drill. Even though it’s bone-chilling cold and snowing. (This is several weekends ago. No snow this weekend–woot, woot!)

And together (and with other little helpers) we build a monstrously beautiful compost bin, large enough to compost the kitchen scraps for the entire state of Minnesota, I think.

So even though this was Mother’s Day weekend, I am coming out immeasurably grateful for this husband of mine, who knows how to give the perfect gifts of time, patience, love, kindness, and a pitchfork with which to turn it into the best soil of all.


9 Comments
  1. Ondalynn permalink
    May 9, 2011 3:30 pm

    Way to go Seth! And happy mother’s day Tiffany! I asked for flowers that I COULD plant and I was so happy with the array of plants that they gave me. Gary even bought me my first tiny rose bush! I am so excited to plant it. 🙂 I look forward to the day when I have enough space for a big garden.

  2. Alice-Anne permalink
    May 9, 2011 8:21 pm

    I love that coat Seth is wearing. Way to go, bro! I’m glad you had such a nice mother’s day Tiffany. We got your card in the mail…thanks! Such a cute picture of your boys!

    • May 9, 2011 9:31 pm

      I’m glad you got the card! I hope you’re getting some rest with that new baby! We love you guys.

  3. Alice-Anne permalink
    May 9, 2011 8:24 pm

    I guess I meant to say I loved the hats Seth and Asher were wearing…looks so cold!

  4. Kelly permalink
    May 10, 2011 10:26 am

    This is SO sweet! Seth, way to go…and might I add that you BOTH married well! Oh, and where I do I get a hat just like that in my size…Asher’s, not Seth’s! 🙂

  5. Terry Arvidson permalink
    May 10, 2011 7:24 pm

    So…you’re not only an awesome mom, homemaker, photographer and writer, you’re an awesome loving wife. Both you and Seth made the right choice!

Comments are closed.

