Skip to content

Apples to applesauce

October 16, 2011

In honor of Steve Jobs, whose passing has been mourned heavily in these parts, I thought it would be appropriate to do a post about apples.

It’s high apple season here, and our apple tree, Copernicus, gave us a bumper crop this year. I am learning a little more about growing apples each year. Lesson 1: An organic oil spray really does help inhibit the bugs, and 2: Our apples are meant to be red. (Remember last year? Yeah, we picked ’em about 4 weeks too early. Oops!)

My scrumptious nephew Elliott.

I had a bunch of eager apple pickers, kids to climb in the trees and retrieve the apples, plus my niece Gabrielle, who used the highly methodical technique of climbing way up in the tree and shaking it silly. It turns out that method works best.

Then all it took was two late nights of chopping piles and piles with my sister-in-law Havilah, plus Gabrielle (both visiting from Texas.) Gabrielle introduced me, her non-TV-watching aunt, to the hilarity of the show Psych.

Then it was time to bring out the wonder that is the Victorio Strainer. And with that, we had applesauce!

We also supplemented with a trip to our favorite orchard for more eating apples, because really, in this house, you can never have enough.

5 Comments
  1. Vivienne Lewis permalink
    October 17, 2011 9:50 am

    Yum! What a production! So proud of you guys.

  2. Alice-Anne permalink
    October 17, 2011 1:35 pm

    i covet your strainer. 🙂 Your jars look delish. I really would love to attempt doing applesauce…we eat so much of it. I didn’t know you had another nephew named Elliott (is this Ryan and Havilah’s?). I guess the name is more popular than i thought! He is really cute. Glad family comes your way!

    • October 17, 2011 9:19 pm

      Once you’ve had homemade, you really can’t go back. 🙂 But it’s amazing how fast we’re eating it up. Yes, we have two cousin Elliott’s! We feel so lucky!

  3. Rachel permalink
    October 17, 2011 2:07 pm

    Oh how I wish I was the one shaking your tree. And eating your apples. And going to the apple orchards with you. In the cool weather. Oh…and we LOVE Psych! So funny. Enjoy that lovely fall!!! I think I MIGHT see a yellow-ish leaf here out my window…oh wait, it was just a clump of dead grass.

    • October 17, 2011 9:20 pm

      Rach, you crack me up! Next time I’m in Austin I’ll bring you a jar of applesauce…and a bag of leaves from our trees outside. 🙂

Comments are closed.

