Skip to content

Thanksgiving 2011 + birthday pie

December 7, 2011

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

For the first time in Seth and I’s married life, we had Thanksgiving with just our family. I have to admit, on the days leading up to it, I was a little sad, a little lonely, pining for family far away.

But then, Thanksgiving morning came. And there was no schedule, no pressing commitment except to sometime that day eat copious amounts of turkey and potatoes. I went for a long jog. The entire Lewis crew helped make rolls. We sat down and watched TV! (Macey’s parade.) It was a lovely day. And yes, I made the entire meal by myself (with intermittent “help” from those who wanted to taste-test), but really the Thanksgiving meal makes itself. I even had time for bath.

The meal was lovely and peaceful, just our little family reflecting on this past year’s blessings. And the festivities rolled right into the weekend, where we celebrated Addison’s eighth birthday. Of course, he wanted pie, something large, yellow, and lemony. All in all, a fantastic holiday.

 

4 Comments
  1. Lindsey L permalink
    December 7, 2011 8:58 pm

    Is that French Silk Pie I spy in those pictures?? If so, I need the recipe!!!

  2. December 7, 2011 10:33 pm

    Oh goodness, that looks charming and magical. I’ve found spending Holidays with just my family to be quite lovely. This year though, we combined with a two other families, so the adults were all hanging out and the kids were all playing, but at the end of the day when I was putting my 8-year-old to bed she said, “Mom, I really wanted to spend Thanksgiving with my family. I had fun with my friends, but we didn’t spend any time together as a family.”

    Knife in my heart. I felt like a real loser. She made me vow we’d spend Christmas with just our family, and that’s fine with me.

  3. Vivienne Lewis permalink
    December 12, 2011 12:27 am

    What a great Thanksgiving and two fabulous looking pies!!!

  4. Tahadden permalink
    December 13, 2011 10:50 am

    The best part of Thanksgiving in Minnesota is the leftovers just go on the porch and will stay cold/frozen for the whole weekend.

Comments are closed.

