Skip to content

This holiday season brought to you by…

January 10, 2012

I know we’re halfway through January and no one wants to talk about Christmas, but I need to pay tribute to this woman:

My mom! (Isn’t she beautiful?) Without my mom, Christmas would not have happened in these parts. There would have been no joy in Joyville, no roast beast, a tree without decorations, and maybe a toothbrush for each kid. That’s it.

December is always busy. This one was especially so. We had Addison’s baptism with many houseguests. Seth and I spent a lovely weekend in Las Vegas for Seth’s brother Crismon and new wife Danielle:

In the midst of all this wonderful celebration (and holiday concerts and perfomances and life) Seth had three major research papers due. I had just begun a new writing project, and was finishing up two big stories (found here and here). There weren’t enough hours in the day for all that needed to happen.

But happen they did, because Mom came to town and ran the show. She put me in my office and said, “You write. I’ll take care of the rest.” She bought and wrapped all the Christmas presents, down to the jammies and stocking stuffers. She watched the kids, all of them in the throes of pink eye, sinus infections, and strep throat, while Seth and I went to Las Vegas. When I came home I found new throw rugs in every room, the laundry folded, and all the bath toys squeaky clean in the dishwasher. Then she flew home (with pink eye, a sinus infection, and strep throat) to put together her own Christmas.

It has taken me a decade to realize that I will never live up to my mother. For a while that was a hard pill to swallow, but I’ve come to realize that I don’t have to. All I have to do is say thank you. Thank you! Thank you! Every day, to this remarkable woman, for the rest of my life.

12 Comments
  1. Nelleke Swinkels - van de Vorst permalink
    January 10, 2012 1:53 pm

    That’s what Mum’s really love to do! Taking care of their children and grandchildren!

  2. Dawn Crance permalink
    January 10, 2012 2:08 pm

    AWWW..Perfect! But what can I say…I love your mom too!

  3. Alice-Anne permalink
    January 10, 2012 3:10 pm

    you do have an amazing mom! can I hire her next year to do all my Christmas shopping and etc, etc? and I love that coat she’s wearing!

  4. January 10, 2012 3:13 pm

    A great post, and a well-deserved tribute. We really appreciate all you did (and continue to do), Janice!

  5. Tam Guthrie permalink
    January 10, 2012 3:16 pm

    Good job Tiff! Yes, Moms love to serve better than anything in the world, however, it is so nice to know that our service is appreciated…and that is a lost art! Good girl!

  6. Meredith permalink
    January 10, 2012 5:09 pm

    What a great post! She is an amazing woman!

  7. Vivienne Lewis permalink
    January 10, 2012 6:58 pm

    I love your Mom! She makes you feel good when you’re around her, and she makes the world a better place wherever she goes. Cheers to Janice! One amazing woman! Surely glad she “rescued” Christmas for you.

  8. Lgh permalink
    January 11, 2012 10:56 am

    Oh, there is no one in the world like Janice. She is simply
    A.M.A.Z.I.N.G.

    Everyone adores Janice. It’s true.

    But, TIffany, you are a great mom in your own way. No comparison necessary….just an acceptance that you excel in your own ways.

  9. Terry Arvidson permalink
    January 12, 2012 6:04 pm

    Tiff, I love your mom too. I also love her as a sister. You’re on your way to measuring up, no doubt. I recommend learning the “stiff dance”.

    Regards,
    Uncle Terry

  10. Melinda W permalink
    January 12, 2012 9:36 pm

    Your Mom is awesome!!! Way to go Janice!

  11. Annie Joyal Thayne permalink
    January 15, 2012 11:42 am

    I’ve always been a great fan of your mom. I wish I could spend time with her again someday.

Comments are closed.

