Skip to content

Individual education plan

January 25, 2012

In a constant reminder that education is not one-size-fits-all, we’ve entered the new year in a schooling flux. We pulled Jackson from our local elementary school and put him in a lovely little private school down the road. We kept Preston in public kindergarten. And Addison, well, he came home with me.

If you followed that, it now means I have one public, one private, and one homeschooled child. This could be the beginning of a grand educational experiment, but what it has turned out to be is exactly right for each child. Mothers, our number one job is to fret about our children, and I’ve have spent the past two years as a full-time fretter. But no more! In the mornings, when everyone scatters to the wind, I am content, knowing that each of my boys is where they need to be.

As for homeschool, well, that has been buckets of fun. I don’t know if I could do it with all my children, but doing it with one (a middle child, so often shuffled along with the herd) feels like a grand luxury. We read Greek Myths by the fire. Or pop popcorn and watch a National Geographic special on Egypt. We discover new places, like the fabulous Minneapolis Institute of Art. There are workbooks and assignments too, but ours is definitely more of an unschooling, because we still have to live life around it all, and that includes dentist appointments and the grocery store. And recess, which these days, includes grand aspirations to be the next Shaun White.

Learning at its best.

11 Comments
  1. Christa permalink
    January 25, 2012 3:20 pm

    Wow, Tiffany. Kudos to you. I think what you’re doing is awesome. 🙂

    • January 25, 2012 9:41 pm

      Thanks Christa! It’s so good to hear from you. I hope all your kiddos are doing well.

  2. Lynda Meza permalink
    January 25, 2012 7:16 pm

    This is awesome Tiffany. You know that I’m a homeschooling fan and if done right can be some of the most rewarding times of our lives. There are so many opportunities for children/parents to take advantage of when your homeschooling. So much more time can be spent playing, exploring, and enjoying the things that children are interested in. I feel that because of homeschooling my kids have had the opportunity and time to work on their talents and really discover things that interest them. For instance, just yesterday Brayden practiced his guitar for probably close to 3 hours, and Ashlyn drew pictures of girls from different countries for 2-3 hours, and Daekon had time to read the books he loves and tell me which author’s style he likes reading best and why. Plus they had time to get in an airsoft gun war!! I just love homeschooling so much and cannot say enough about it. You’re amazing and so are your kiddos!!

    • January 25, 2012 9:42 pm

      Thanks Lynda! You are one of my inspirations for taking this step. We are really having a great time, and I agree with you about giving kids that time to develop their own talents. That has been the most rewarding part. Your kids are amazing!

  3. Pete permalink
    January 25, 2012 7:26 pm

    Kudos! Enjoy!

  4. Meredith permalink
    January 25, 2012 11:14 pm

    What a sweet picture of Addison! ANd yes, amen to what everyone has said. I’d admire you for all you do to help your kids through their education. I’m curious to know though, does Jackson or Preston get jealous of Addison when they have to leave for school and he gets to stay home? Or do they love their school so much it doesn’t even bother them.

  5. Ondalynn Vance permalink
    January 26, 2012 12:18 am

    Looks so fun! Great work, Tiffany!

  6. January 26, 2012 8:11 pm

    I wish I’d known years ago that you kept a blog! I have always loved reading your articles over on DN!
    You are doing an awesome job and I take comfort in many things you share 🙂

  7. Vivienne Lewis permalink
    January 26, 2012 10:21 pm

    Lucky Addison to have you, the best teacher of all. So glad the other locations are working out for Jackson and Preston. What a wonderful life you live.

  8. Crismon Lewis permalink
    January 30, 2012 12:42 am

    We love your approach to mothering and education!

Comments are closed.

