Skip to content

Frozen half

January 31, 2012

If I had to create my own version of how life would end, it would be this: A long, cold road, a blast of wind, patches of black ice, and the occasional cow bell to cheer me on. I would be mostly alone, and I would spend the last seven miles doing my darndest to pass as many people as I could. There would be two killer hills on the last mile, and I might even talk to myself, give myself a little vocal pep talk. And then I would round that last bend and spot the finish line. But I wouldn’t be looking at the finish line. I’d be looking at a tall, thin man in a furry blue hat, huddled together with four boys cheering their crazy mama on. And I would burst into tears, because that’s exactly what I would need to carry me those last few steps. That, my friends, is my version of Heaven.

Heaven might also include polar bears and unicorns carved in ice, ice thrones, ice walls, and front-row seats to the national autonomous snowplow competition. I’d be happy with that too.

13 Comments
  1. Amber permalink
    February 1, 2012 6:43 am

    You are awesome! Maybe a little crazy too but mostly awesome!

  2. February 1, 2012 7:56 am

    a.m.a.z.i.n.g!

  3. February 1, 2012 8:38 am

    Looks like a great time. I love the ice sculptures!

  4. Rachel permalink
    February 1, 2012 9:22 am

    Is there anything you don’t do, girl?? You inspire me.
    Way to go!

  5. February 1, 2012 10:39 am

    Lovely pictures — which race was this and where was it?

    • February 1, 2012 12:58 pm

      The Securian Frozen Half. It’s part of the festivities at the St. Paul Winter Carnival.

  6. Julia permalink
    February 1, 2012 2:01 pm

    I didn’t know you were training for a half marathon? You rock, Tiffany!! This is going to be my inspiration to get back into running. Thanks for the awesome glimpse of heaven. It’s definitely going to be that wonderful 🙂

  7. Alice-Anne permalink
    February 1, 2012 3:45 pm

    Congratulations, Tiffany! What an accomplishment…especially in the winter in Minnesota! Hats–and gloves and scarves–off to you! Impressive!

  8. Ondalynn Vance permalink
    February 2, 2012 1:58 pm

    Yay Tiffany!! That is truly amazing. Your story reminded me of when Gary was almost to the finish line of his marathon and the kids and I were there to cheer him on. When he saw us, he too burst into tears and stopped long enough to give us all a hug and kiss before finishing the race. It was a sweet moment.

  9. February 6, 2012 4:36 pm

    Hooray! That was awesome, and I cried. Way to go Tiffany

  10. Vivienne Lewis permalink
    February 9, 2012 11:24 pm

    Your description of heaven was terrific. Congratulations on making it to the finish line! Impressive! Those sculptures were incredible!

Comments are closed.

