Skip to content

The sleep space

February 22, 2012

When we moved into our house here in Minnesota, Seth put his foot down about one thing: “No painting for an entire year,” he said. What? 

Perhaps he was traumatized from the years of me leaning over to whisper in his ear, “I have the most romantic idea for a date night,” only to find himself on the top rung of a ladder, paint pole in hand. Perhaps he knows that for some people, painting is more addicting than any drug. OnceI get started, I just can’t stop.

In any case, I obliged his wish. It helped that I liked nearly all the paint colors in our house.

Except the master bedroom: burnt orange. Eek! It was like living in Peter-Peter-Pumpkin-Eater’s shell.

Seth, a fresh University of Texas graduate, thought it was a great homage to his recent alma mater. But I had other things in mind. Which is why, one minute after wrapping up Thanksgiving dinner, I wiped my mouth and told the family,”If you’re going to take care of the dishes, there’s a little project I want to work on.”

New paint, new bedspread, new arrangement! (But my hats stay safely on the bed posters. It’s the only place I know they won’t get smashed, or worse, worn by my children.) This room is now my favorite room in the house. It feels so fresh. To be truthful, it isn’t exactly what I had in mind, not completely. I wanted everything to be red and white, but do you know how hard it is to find a red and white quilt that doesn’t require a second mortgage? So I ended up with this bedspread, which is IKEA, and which I still love.

The room’s not entirely finished. I want to make some red and white curtains, and I would love to recover the trunk at the foot of the bed, which is my mom’s hope chest. And then of course there is the master bathroom, which could use a new paint color…okay, stop me now. I’ve tasted the nectar, and there’s no going back.

8 Comments
  1. Vivienne Lewis permalink
    February 22, 2012 10:21 am

    Beautiful! I love the new look!

  2. February 23, 2012 5:35 am

    Hey, Tiffany, I love the new look also. Your nightstand filled with books and the stacks of books in the corner totally made me smile. That particular look will always remain the same, right?!?!?

  3. Meredith permalink
    February 25, 2012 10:26 am

    Simply beautiful!

  4. February 25, 2012 6:19 pm

    I love a good before & after! Excellent work.

  5. Vivienne C permalink
    February 25, 2012 11:38 pm

    I love love the color you picked out!

  6. March 4, 2012 12:02 am

    Looks great! I love this quilt: http://www.kohls.com/kohlsStore/landingpages/apt9/bedbath/bedding/PRD~c22621/Apt+9+Davina+Quilted+Coverlet.jsp, but Seth probably won’t go for any more redecorating, will he? Those Ikea pillows make the bed look great–I love them!

Trackbacks

  1. The write space « The Tiffany Window

Comments are closed.

