Skip to content

The write space

March 6, 2012

This, my friends, is my dream writer’s studio.

It does not belong to me. It belongs to a house down the road, and I walk/run/bike/drive past it every day, and do a righteous amount of coveting. Someday, when I’ve saved enough pennies, I will knock on this person’s door and kindly ask to have this shed airlifted to my backyard.

Or at least I’ll ask them what paint color they used for that door. (Don’t you love the yellow door?)

For now, I’m recreating internal spaces for writing. The actual space moves a lot, depending on where the children suspect they might be able to find me. (I’ve found my closet to be most foolproof so far.) But I did want to create an inspiring workspace. So as soon as the ban on painting was lifted, I tackled the office. It was a dark and dreary brick red and was crammed full of stuff. Way, way too much stuff. So we did a whole lot of rearranging, moved the shelves into the closet, added a sofa-bed, I splashed on my favorite paint color ever, and voila: a decent writing space.

Something needs to be done about the blank spaces on the wall. And the fact that it’s the coldest room in the house (and one can’t type in mittens. I’ve tried.) But it is a good space. A place where great writing can happen.

At least, until that writer’s shed comes along.

How about you? Do you have a favorite work space? Are you fascinated by others’ work spaces? I love some of these, this is a dream crafting studio, I could also be happy working in this, or really, any of these.

11 Comments
  1. March 6, 2012 6:43 am

    Oh I am loving your space!

    I have been downsized to a simple desk in my bedroom…I was spoiled in my last house b/c I had a craft/office that was large enough to separate my crafts/sewing/writing and storage spaces sufficiently. I am in mourning still and may always be!

    So now I love to see who has something for me to drool over…I’m happy doing that! 🙂

  2. March 6, 2012 7:38 am

    I looked at them all – and I like your best! Nice! I love how clean and open it feels, and how pretty it is. I also like the touch of family – seeing what is important to you and seeing that you had not only yourself, but your family in mind as well. Very cool! Nice job!! 😀

    • March 6, 2012 11:01 am

      Thanks Corine. I like the open feeling as well. And all those smiling faces of my kids really is inspiring!

  3. Lynda Meza permalink
    March 6, 2012 9:33 am

    Ashlyn read about your writing spaces and she said,”Well tell her that I have a favorite space to do my writing. That place is my bedroom at my desk, which us under my loft bed.” Ashlyn thinks it’s wonderful that you can be a mom and write because that’s what she wants to do. She has been making Barbie magazines lately. She Takes pictures of posed Barbies, pastes them into Word and types articles about the pictures. Then puts them altogether to make a magazine. She asked me if you would like to read her magazine sometime??:-)

    • March 6, 2012 11:02 am

      I would feel so privileged to read Ashlyn’s magazine! And please tell her that being a mom and a writer is the best combination there is!

  4. March 6, 2012 11:57 am

    Tiffany, you made it very inviting and enticing. It will work great. But, the truth is, you are creative, no matter where you are!

  5. Vivienne Lewis permalink
    March 6, 2012 12:24 pm

    What a transformation! I’m inspired just looking at it! Well done.

    • March 6, 2012 12:38 pm

      It is quite a change, isn’t it? I wish I had decent “before” pictures, but the room was always too dark. Now it is bright and peaceful.

  6. Alice-Anne permalink
    March 6, 2012 3:13 pm

    I love that color, too. I saw that recently in someone’s house and I just loved it. Not sure where it would work in my home…but I should be more bold with colors, like you are. That closet looks so organized…you’ve done a lot of work!

    Right now my writing place is the wingback chair in my bedroom. I love that little spot.

    That shed reminds me of David McCollough’s writing cottage (seen at the end of the Johns Adams DVDS)…hope you get yours someday. Happy writing!

    • March 6, 2012 3:59 pm

      Chairs are great for writing, aren’t they? I didn’t know David McCullough had a writing cottage. I will have to check that out.

  7. March 7, 2012 8:39 am

    I’m with you on writing shacks. (In fact, I have a whole pinterest board of them.) I think something about stepping out the house door and into the writing shack would get those writing juices flowing.

Comments are closed.

