Skip to content

Coming alive

April 23, 2012

Spring looks like: a pile of shoes by my door, a pair of brown-bottomed socks on the living room floor, seeds in sunny windows, slow budding trees, a full-bloom white magnolia up the street.

Spring sounds like: a silent house, a ball bouncing, an American Robin pouncing, a clash of light sabers in the yard three houses down.

Spring means: Open windows. Fresh air. Grass so green it hurts the eyes. Daffodils. Geese on every lake. Catching up with the neighbors. Crossing your fingers that the delicate apple blossoms won’t freeze in the night.

In spring we throw the windows wide open. Seth had a dream several weeks ago that Rick Santorum was guest speaker at a church meeting. (I know right? Don’t tell Mitt, it’ll hurt his feelings.) Anyway, Santorum got up to speak and said, “Who let in all the birds? Where did all these birds come from?” It was all the birds outside our open window, floating into Seth’s subconcious. Spring brings magical dreams.

A few years ago my sister Kat and future brother-in-law Matt were driving through West Texas, making the long trek from Utah to Austin. (And if you haven’t done that drive, you can’t truly understand the following story. I once drove that stretch in a thunderstorm, while listening to Michael Jackson’s “Thriller” and saw something that just might have been a deer about to mutate into a werewolf.) Anyway, after 12 hours of driving just through Texas they were nearly home, when Matt, a very stable person under normal circumstances, just lost it. He started rocking back and forth, then threw back his head and cried, “I want to LIVE!”

That’s how I feel, right before spring arrives. I want to live!

And speaking of dreams, I only have one reaccuring dream. It comes to me every few years, no matter what house I’m living in. In the dream, I open up a bedroom door and discover an entire wing of the house I never knew existed! It happens to be the size of a museum and has tapestries on the wall. It comes with a boat dock. And beachfront property. I love that dream.

That is what spring feels like to me. It’s like opening up a door and discovering a forgotten wing of my house, the wing that includes 30+ trees and a sandbox and a garden and tulips and a compost and flowering lilacs and neighborhood children.

I want to live!

I can. We all finally can.

10 Comments
  1. Tami Guthrie permalink
    April 23, 2012 8:29 am

    Simply beautiful!

  2. aliharkness79 permalink
    April 23, 2012 2:32 pm

    I used to have that dream all the time when we lived in Boston. But, the entire extra wing of my house consisted of closets and more storage space! I was so sad when I woke up and realized it was a dream.

  3. sheralie permalink
    April 23, 2012 4:50 pm

    This post reminds me of a secret garden….

  4. lonigee permalink
    April 23, 2012 8:30 pm

    WOW, such profound writing. You describe it all so well and beautifully.

    Tiffany, here’s what happened this year at our home….it’s 11 seconds long, and you should show your boys to see if they can figure out WHAT IS WRONG WITH THIS BIRD! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZDRhUVANwdw

    Even though it lasts only 11 seconds, it went on for an hour or more, every day for two weeks. Crazy indeed.

    But, I so loved this post – there is nothing like spring.

    • April 24, 2012 5:10 am

      Thanks Loni. I loved your video, especially the background music that accompanied the bird. I will definitely show my boys. 🙂

  5. April 24, 2012 7:22 am

    A magical dream? I call Santorum speaking in church a nightmare. Loved the rest, though.

  6. viviennel permalink
    April 25, 2012 8:40 pm

    Simply magical!

  7. Vivienne permalink
    May 1, 2012 6:38 pm

    I love Seth’s expression with his birthday cake. Dad would do the exact same thing!

  8. katlingee permalink
    May 3, 2012 3:41 pm

    I love Asher’s photo at the end. And I love the coming of Spring!

Comments are closed.

