Skip to content

Ten!

June 5, 2012

I keep looking at this oldest son of mine, wondering if I have the date wrong, or the year wrong. But no, he truly is ten. Zowie!

We celebrated on Saturday with a full day of parties: family breakfast (per tradition), two graduation parties, plus his own friends party. Whew!

The party was nearly all Jackson’s own creation: lots of water play with balloons and squirt guns, a pinata, party food, and a very specific kind of cake.

And this kid, who loves nothing more than rocking out to a good beat, wanted a dance party.

A black light, paper stars, glow sticks and flourescent green marker=ingredients for endless entertainment.

Jackson’s 10-year-birthday mark so many things for our little family. It was ten years ago that Seth and I walked hand-in-hand across the stage to receive our degrees in journalism. (Jackson came two weeks later!) And it marks a decade being parents to this rowdy band of pirates, starting with the most inquisitive boy of them all. Jackson has taught me (and continues to teach me) the arts of patience, thoughtfulness, and curiosity. He has the heart of a lion.

When Jackson was little, I could not keep him in my sight. We lived on Miami Beach, and I spent my days trying to keep him safe from the crowded streets, the ocean waves, and anything that had electricity coming out of it. It was an exhausting task.

I don’t know if I will ever catch up with this son of mine, or truly understand how his remarkable brain works, but after ten years I know this: he is my son because we both have things to learn.

Happy birthday Jackson!

8 Comments
  1. June 5, 2012 12:56 pm

    That picture of you and Jackson at the end made me cry. He is such a great boy, a big heart, and you’re such a terrific Mom to him. That picture tells it all! We love you, Jackson!

  2. June 5, 2012 2:45 pm

    Thank you for sharing this! Congratulations to you, Seth, Jackson and your whole family for this wonderful decade of joy you have had together!

  3. June 5, 2012 3:23 pm

    Such a lovely post, and a fitting tribute to a special kid. We love you, Jackson!

  4. Alice-Anne permalink
    June 5, 2012 3:37 pm

    Loved that picture, too! You and Seth are such great parents…congrats on your 10 year mark! And happy birthday to a great kid!

  5. Carla Nichols permalink
    June 5, 2012 4:20 pm

    Happy Birthday Jackson! That means that Aunt Carla is 10 years older too….Yikes!

  6. June 5, 2012 5:42 pm

    Tiffany, your band of pirates are so blessed to be part of your home.

  7. June 6, 2012 9:28 am

    Love your post. Happy birthday, Jackson. We are blessed to know you.

Comments are closed.

