Skip to content

The windy city

June 14, 2012

I haven’t been to Chicago since junior high. (We lived in Missouri at the time and traveled to Chicago often.) Gathering there this past weekend, in a city with so many adolescent memories, with my entire family, was such a treat.

The city has changed in the past decade and a half. Millenium Park: loved it! What a beautiful addition to the downtown. (Even if they did almost tow our car.)

The best part was being with all my siblings. It’s so fun to gather as full-fledged adults. We are, all of us, loud, talkative, and prone to burst into spontaneous song. When we are together, it’s like living on the set of “Singing in the Rain.”

Here are my awesome parents who made all of it, all of us, possible. I don’t know two more remarkable people.

Oh, and these two made the gathering possible as well, by graduating with degrees in law and public policy from the University of Chicago. Movers and shakers, these two fine folks.

The great thing is that they’re both going back for more school, so we can repeat this fabulous weekend again in a couple of years.

My sisters and I had way too much fun. (Here we are at a bus stop trying to mimic those over-the-top gum commercials.) Love my family. Love this city. (With a big thanks to Seth, who manned the boy fort with grace and aplomb while I was gone.)

6 Comments
  1. Nelleke Swinkels - van de Vorst permalink
    June 14, 2012 11:07 am

    Love this happy family!

  2. lonigee permalink
    June 14, 2012 4:53 pm

    I LOVED this post and the pictures! I LOVE this remarkable family. And, I agree with you about your parents; they are incredible. Tiffany, it would be hard for me to put into words the emotions these pictures stirred in me. You are a joyous family and bring such great joy to so many people. And, I know that Grandpa Gee was looking down and totally loving that celebration….and having another lawyer in the family! Thanks, Lisa, for doing that! I join in the toast: Here’s to a wonderful happy family!

  3. June 14, 2012 6:18 pm

    Chicago and Gees, two of my faves! Excellent call on Giordano’s; I have it every time I go home. And is that you doing a hand stand? That’s impressive. I tried to do a cartwheel for my boys yesterday & almost landed on my head. I’ve thought “I should call Tiffany” about twenty times in the past few weeks. Let’s catch up soon!

  4. June 18, 2012 8:16 am

    You guys are the cutest family! It was so fun to meet you in person! Have an awesome time at WIFYR!

  5. June 18, 2012 8:24 am

    I love your amazing family! What a great time together. Your smiles say it all. And…congrats to you on still being able to do a hand stand!

  6. June 24, 2012 9:11 pm

    You are so much fun–so to multiply that by six must be an absolute riot! My brother also graduated from the University of Chicago Law School last week–was it your brother who studied law? Small world, isn’t it?

Comments are closed.

