Skip to content

All together now

November 7, 2012

Yesterday I made bipartisan pancakes, red and blue, for breakfast. It reflected my own ballot choices, my extended family’s leanings, and the way I hope my kids enter every political race.

We went as an entire family to the polls. The kids were so excited. They hovered over every bubble I filled out. As I watched people stream in and out of the polling place (which is also my kids’ little school) I cried like I do every time I vote. Because, I get to vote! We all get to vote. And whether the pancakes on our plate stack red or blue or some shade in between,  I am grateful for that freedom. I live ever hopeful that the country will move forward in a gentler, more discourse-friendly manner. That’s one thing I’m always willing to vote for.

4 Comments
  1. Melinda permalink
    November 7, 2012 8:56 am

    Glad I’m not the only one who gets choked up when voting! I took my kids with me to drop my ballot in the box (we vote by mail/dropbox) and I was surprised at how excited they were with the entire thing. We talked a lot about how important it is to vote and what being a good citizen looks like. My fav question, from Natalie, was “Why is there a policeman standing there?” I imagined years ago how violent voting was and what a struggle it was for women to even gain that right and smiled down at her and said – “He’s there to help anyone who needs help.” And gave her a squeeze thinking of the celebration I’m planning for 2013 honoring our foremothers’ and forefathers’ work to get us to this point in history when we wonder what the police have to do with voting and nobody blinks at me dropping my ballot in that box.

  2. lonigee permalink
    November 7, 2012 12:51 pm

    Tiffany, you always inspire me.

  3. November 12, 2012 10:59 am

    Thanks for teaching those boys the privilege of voting and the blessing to be able to chose and express their beliefs. We live in a grand country! Thanks for being a fun Mommy who makes red & blue pancakes! They will always remember that.

  4. November 12, 2012 11:00 am

    Oops…”To Choose” and express their beliefs.

Comments are closed.

