Skip to content

Upon the return

September 3, 2013

IMG_1964

The boys went back to school today.  The house was quiet, just Asher and I. (And the professor, working from his office under a tree.) The stack of papers on or next to my desk is about three feet high. There is much to do.

But good golly, all I want to do is hold on to the summer, this magical, magical Summer 2013. The sun-tinted, watermelon-flavored days. Hours on the trampoline, weeks in the Pacific Northwest, nights reading aloud to my long-limbed boys. My perfect, perfect trip to London with Seth.

This summer my garden grew only partially, I wrote very little, the house was nearly always messy, we ate a lot of cold cereal for dinner–and it was fabulous! I didn’t make jam or blog or do a single craft with my kids, and we never, ever cracked our summer math books–and it was awesome! Instead, we swam, a lot. We got good and grubby. We spent so, so much time together.

But the best part of all was family. Family reunions and family gatherings, reminding us of this great, glorious peoples we get to call ours. We played in the shadow of the great Camas paper mill, where my Grandpa Arvidson worked his entire life. We hiked in the foothills of my mom’s childhood, and explored with cousins, grandparents, aunts and uncles on the beaches of my childhood. Even in London, walking through Westminster, standing in front of Old Bailey, I could feel the spirit of my people, my great British ancestors.

My yard in the back is covered in leaves. The air snapped yesterday, bringing hints of what’s to come. It’s going to be a fabulous school year. But oh, summer! You have been so good to us. You filled my cup, brim to overflowing, enough to carry me through whatever comes next.

7 Comments
  1. September 3, 2013 6:39 pm

    I love your writing, Tiffany! You always can put reality into such a descriptive, captivating way. Thanks for such a great, magical way of sharing your magical summer.

  2. Crismon Lewis permalink
    September 3, 2013 11:13 pm

    Amen to mother’s comment. It was so wonderful to have you in the Northwest for so long. We’ll now pine for summers to come in hopes the reunion-ing can continue!

  3. September 4, 2013 7:33 am

    Beautiful. A fitting tribute to the best. summer. ever.

  4. Jan permalink
    September 4, 2013 7:41 am

    Beautiful, as always.

  5. Hans permalink
    September 4, 2013 12:55 pm

    Loved the summary! Enjoyed having Seth and Addison end their summer with us out in Virginia.

  6. September 7, 2013 12:19 pm

    How true it is. I share your sentiments. Way to relish it, utterly and completely, without regret.

  7. Katherine Gee permalink
    September 11, 2013 5:44 pm

    So true! What a fantastic, magical summer!

Comments are closed.

