Skip to content

Stick horse

November 12, 2013

20131112-145651.jpg

I interrupt the radio silence on this here blog to bring you an update. It is winter in Minnesota. Seven degrees on my morning jog. Seven! And Addison is still running around without a coat. You would never know he was born in Miami.

We are in the midst of painting the kitchen/living room and tiling the bathrooms. There is a toilet (R.I.P.) sitting on my front porch. Everything else in the house, including all the coats/hats/dirty rags that usually sit in the laundry room, are in the front room. Cold and chaotic is how things run around here.

But this: I took Asher to his little preschool yesterday, and watched him gallop through the door on his stick horse. And I thought:

Oh to be four
And gallop next to your best friend
On a stick horse
Into preschool

I told this anecdote to my sister and she said, “That sounds like the beginning of a Billy Collins poem.” So there you go, Billy Collins. Your first stanza written.

3 Comments
  1. November 12, 2013 5:26 pm

    Loved it!

  2. November 12, 2013 7:18 pm

    I love hearing about your life. The simplest things become poetic. Amazing!

  3. November 13, 2013 1:27 pm

    Tiffany, I agree with Vivienne; you are such a good writer. You don’t post often enough. And, I know that you are very busy being such a great mom to your four boys, but I do love to read your post.

Comments are closed.

