Skip to content

Heart of Darkness

November 26, 2013

20131126-184252.jpg

20131126-184326.jpg

20131126-184406.jpg

20131126-184423.jpg

20131126-184454.jpg

It is so dark outside! How do I not remember the darkness from winters past? The sun skims the sky in mid morning, giving us a few hours of light before dropping from sight before I’ve even started dinner prep.

We are following the light. Seth works in whatever room catches the morning rays. Asher sits like a cat in patches of sunlight, playing Legos. I mostly drink cups and cups of mint tea, which keeps me warm and keeps me from eating peppermint Joe Joes, which is what I really want.

Seth and Jackson chased the light all the way to Arizona, where the hiked around the Grand Canyon and spent time with Seth’s Grandma Lewis, who is 93. He said the trip was life-changing, reflective, a reminder of priorities. Grandma is the last surviving grandparent for both Seth and I. She is the mother of 12 children and still cracks the best jokes.

Addison is 10! Today! We celebrated this past weekend with a raucous group of football lovers. They even braved the brutal temperatures outside for a game of touch football, playing until their fingers froze. I always vow to be finished with birthday parties, but goodness, how can I deny my son the joy of nine besties chowing on pizza and learning the art of paper football? I cannot. The parties continue. They are their own beam of light.

2 Comments
  1. www.teramaxwell.com permalink
    November 26, 2013 9:18 pm

    As always, I love your writing, Tiffany. Thanks for posting!

  2. November 26, 2013 9:30 pm

    That football cake is amazing!!! Very professional. How do you do that??? Loved your update. We’re missing the sun, too, but you have a way of writing that makes it sound mysterious.

Comments are closed.

