Skip to content

The weather outside

December 12, 2013

20131212-142106.jpg

20131212-142259.jpg

20131212-142317.jpg

I can’t describe how good 16 degrees feels on the skin. Balmy! Downright tropical! I know the whole country has been shivering, but living next to the freezer coil that is Canada, we got some extra special blasts of cold air this past week.

But things are looking up. I’ve stocked up on herbal tea and the most enormous summer sausage from Costco–holiday essentials, you know. Most of the Christmas shopping is done, thanks to Amazon. I even sewed kitchen curtains yesterday. No Christmas card yet–we’ll see when that happens. I’m either in a zen state or my brain is frozen.

Speaking of brain freeze, last weekend Seth and I attended the famous St. Olaf’s Christmas concert. We were late (of course) and parked miles away (of course) and it was -16 outside (of course) as we ran across the campus, and I really did feel my brain freeze, right there inside my skull. But. It was worth it, because inside that auditorium Christmas was happening in the most marvelous and reverent way. Hundreds of singers in choir robes, a true heavenly chorus. It was spectacular. And they let us join in–I sang “All Creatures of Our God and King” at the top of my lungs. About seventy-five percent of the audience wore Scandinavian sweaters, and the whole thing felt so authentically Minnesotan. I felt so happy to live in this gem of a state, even with my brain slowly defrosting.

It’s been all Christmas music around the house, on the piano and violin and Pandora. Mostly choral and classical. We can’t get enough. In the car we are listening to Little House in the Big Woods. This is our third time (for me about the 20th), but for the littles it’s all new, the hunting and cheese making and Christmas of peppermint sticks and mittens. Is there a more perfect children’s book?

I love this time of year. What are you listening to/reading/making?

2 Comments
  1. December 12, 2013 3:01 pm

    I love to hear of the magic going on in your home at this joyous time of the year. Just reading about you singing “All Creatures of our God and King” at the top of your lungs brought tears to my eyes. I love how your writing always does that to me. I find myself feeling grateful, happy, and inspired by your posts. Love to all.

  2. December 12, 2013 3:03 pm

    Well, I”m reading about China-Taiwan relations for a paper I’m writing for class. But, oh, I’m glad I could take a 5 minute break and read your post! So well-written!

Comments are closed.

